The Fiji Museum holds thousands of archaeological exhibits dating back 3,700 years. These remarkable collections represent both Fiji’s indigenous inhabitants and other communities that have settled on the island group in the last 100 years or so. The Fiji Museum is a body that is governed by the Fiji Museum Act and the Preservation of Objects of Archaeological and Paleontological Interest Act. The
original building in which it is housed was the old Town Hall erected in 1904 but has since relocated to Thurston Gardens.
In 1960 a series of educational and craft programs were initiated by the newly appointed Director Bruce Palmer. There is also a research and educational institution that encourages school field trips and other educational trips to the center. There are also activities on offer for their many visitors. It opens weekdays from 8.30 am to 4.30pm, Saturday from 9am to 4.30pm but is closed on Sundays. There is a small admission charge which contributes to the upkeep of the Museum and its shops.
The Museum hosts the most extensive collection of Fijian Artifacts in the world is also dedicated to the preservation of Fiji’s vernacular languages. It is also the guardian of publications on Fiji’s language and culture. The building holds centuries old items with the first exhibit the Drua (Fijian Canoe) dating back to the 1800′s. The Drua is known to be a remarkably sea worthy canoe that over past years embarked on historical and dangerous voyage throughout the Pacific Ocean.
The Museum is divided into several sections with each section playing an important role. They consist of the Collections Department, Educational Department, Historical Archaeology Department, Pre- History Archaeology Department, Conservation Department and the Exhibitions and Display Department.
There is a myriad of fascinating exhibits on display with each having an original and unique story. The Museum also hosts a small boutique where shoppers can take advantage of the wonderful souvenirs to take back home.